Tankless to supplement existing conventional w.h.

Users who are viewing this thread

BusaNoob

Reaction score
Hi all. I have a question question concerning Tankless water heaters. I moved into new home a while back. The back bathrooms have had troubles getting hot water supply because they are over 70ft from the Gas Tank Style Water Heater in the garage.
This weekend I climbed under the house and put pipe insulation on all the piping. That improved but there is still a 3 minute wait / waste before the water gets hot. I am wanting to add a tankless before the "T" that supplies the two bathrooms.

I am hoping to find an Electric Tankless to supplement the existing heater. Preferably 120 because I only have one open slot in my subpanel. Is there a quality brand that you suggest ? I am a newb to the plumbing world. I am confident that I can get it installed. I really need your help / suggestions in choosing the right model. Also if there is an inline filter to help keep it clean and prolong its life, Im all ears.

Thanks in advance

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
There aren't any tankless electric units that only run on 120
To fry or heat water on demand, you need a lot more power then that.

I would add a recirc line back to the heater. Then there will be almost no wait, and your volume of heated water will increase.

BusaNoob

Reaction score
Thanks for your response. Ive seen 120v tankless models from chronomite and stiebel just searching on the net. Dont know how great of brands they are. I can install a 240 subpanel, but if I can go the easy route with 120, I will.

I also read about installing a recirc. But the recirc would much harder to install running a line all the way back to the tank. I would have to drill through walls, floor, in a tight spaces. Just too much work.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score