Taking any advice from successful plumbing company owners

Users who are viewing this thread

Pipewrench

In the Trades
Reaction score
I've been in the service plumbing industry for eleven years. Mainly residential houses and commercial kitchens. I got my masters license in April 2013. Started my company in May 2013 and went full time June 2014. Its been growing at what I consider a good rate. I've recently hired a very motivated apprentice to help me on his off days from the fire department (3-4 days a week). I have very high hopes for this guy, very mechanically inclined and anxious to learn and try new things. Needless to say I'm very pleased with his progress. I have started doing a little advertising and think it has been ok, but nothing too impressive or expensive. I'm kind of a "tightwad", and pretty much put all my money back into the company. I think that the best way to move forward is to learn from people who have already done what I'm trying to do. So I guess my request for advice is, what would any of you who have grown a successful business, like to share with a fellow plumber who is not your competition? Any and all advice will be appreciated. www.davisplumbingandgas.com

Reach4

Reaction score
I thought that was appropriate advice after reading all of your helpful "call a plumber" postings.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I wouldn't mind hearing for other plumbers what they do too.
Last year the new phone book came out and the number they listed for me was a dead number. The year before that on it was my old fax line. This year the new number they list me with goes to a nail saloon. I wish there was a way to be listed correctly in the phone books.
And then my land line phone listed my address at a generic post office in the next county. I never saw that bill so they turned the number off. I customer let me know that the phone was listed as disconnected.
Is it any wonder that phone books are such a mess.