Switch turned off, getting weird multimeter reading

Users who are viewing this thread

JimO

Reaction score
Hi, I am connecting a new heating element into a combination heater/exhaust fan/light/nightlight appliance in the bathroom ceiling. Each of the separate elements has an electrical cable that plugs into a corresponding socket in the base of the appliance. I was testing the current to make sure it hadn't caused the previous heater to overheat. I used a multimeter in the socket for the heater and fan, and got a little over 120. It was hovering around 121-123. I assume a little variance from exactly 120 is normal. Of course, I'm not an electrician.

The weird thing was when I tested the plug for the cable to the light and the one for the nightlight, the multimeter went way off! It hit 230 or even higher. And the wall switch was off! When I then turned the wall switch on, the meter went to 120, which is normal. Where is this 230 volt reading coming from? Do I have an unwelcome current going through my house? Is this from a grounding issue? Is this normal? Does it have anything to do with building the house on an ancient burial ground? Please share your wisdom. Thanks!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score