subfloor replacement questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Yarg28

Reaction score
we recently moved into a 45 year old bi-level home. The kitchen had several low spots and we were wanting to put a nice wood laminate down so I'm trying to get the subfloor prepared.

I all ready have the center of the subfloor cut out and the joists appera to be in good condition. No cracks, no splits, no water damage. It looks like with a little shimming I will have a decent shot at a relatively flat floor.

My concern is that I currently have the subfloor cut to about 12" away from all of the walls. I'm not sure how much closer i can go. I'd like to replace as much of it as possible but i'm not confident in my knowledge to move forward.

Do i need to add any bracing to the exterior walls? I dont see how the sub floor can be carrying much of the load of the exterior wall but im also not a structural engineer. I dont want my kitchen wall to fall off. Am i being to concerned?

Are there any guidelines on how close I can cut before I have to worry about the load?

Any recommendations on bracing techniques if they are needed?

thanks for the help.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score