Strange electrical experiences

Users who are viewing this thread

Travis Hall

Reaction score
I am new to any type of forum. Please excuse anything that appears ignorant.

I recently purchased a 5 year old singlewide mobile home. It was lived in for 4 years and was vacant for the past year. It has an over the range microwave that was really nice. The other night after my wife had warmed a pizza in it. She was almost finished eating and then I heard a pop sound and went into the kitchen and it was smoking. Not very much. But you could see a little smoke. It is fried. The refrigerator also stopped cooling. I had it checked. 2 fan motors are burnt up and the timer switch. The next morning my wife couldn't get her hair dryer to work in either bathroom. They both have ground fault receptacles. She then plugged it in the living room outlet and the washer (which unknown to us had apparently stopped running mid cycle) turned on and tried to finish the cycle.

I flipped all breakers off and back on then everything seemed to be working until Wednesday 2 nights ago. My wife turned on a microwave to heat food and the freezer door was open. The light started blinking and the microwave bogged way down. She didn't run it any longer and left everything alone. I came home last night and tried to use the microwave and it was still doing the same thing. I tried in different outlets including the bathroom receptacles.

Last night she turned off the ceiling fan by the switch at the door and the TV turned off and back on. I know a little about electricity. But this has me confused. It seems when heavier appliances are being used that it is draining power from other places in the home. I am going to check the power coming into the house to make sure that I don't have a dead phase. But I am completely lost. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Reach4

Reaction score