Stopped up bathroom drain under concrete

Users who are viewing this thread

Moonvalley

Reaction score
Plumber suggests vacuuming out this drain with several feet of plastic and paper clogging it up. He says pushing it thru could clog main line for my house and attached unit behind. Pipes are 1960s cast iron under concrete slab foundation. Any better suggestions than trying to pull it up out of the drain with a vacuum? Is that even doable?

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a pro, so the fact that I have never heard of vacuuming a drain shouldn't be taken as the last word. I would however, seek a second opinion. Make sure you are dealing with a true plumber, not a franchise rooter company. The advice the pro plumber here usually give is to clear the entire drain clear to the street.

Hairyhosebib

Reaction score