Start-up for new shower install in basement, Square hole is cement floor. Do I close

Users who are viewing this thread

R

ReggieD

I do home improvement as a hobby. I am a jack of all trades, master of none. I want to install my first fully tiled shower in basement. I know how to run drains, vents, copper, etc. This is my first time installed a shower in the basement that already have the drains roughed-in.

I have a square hole in my basement floor with a 2" pipes leading down to an elbow which feeds underground to the toilet 4" pipe and vent 2" pipe. All feeding back to an underground tank. I need to understand what to do with the square opening before pouring the new shower pan. My plan is to fabricate a 45 x 70 walk-in shower. I need to make sure to have the drain at the right height and properly pitch the shower floor toward the drain (www.markeindustries.com/) .

a) What do I do with the opening in the floor to prevent water, bugs from entering the basement after the shower is complete?
b) What plumbing pieces do I need to purchase to attach to the 2†pipe before pouring the shower floor. What fixture should I glue to pipe? What should I attach to pipe to have the ability to adjusts to the shower floor height?
c) How high should I cut the 2" pipe so the drain can be high enough before pouring the shower floor.

Pictures enclosed.

Attachments

• 5 shower square &#104.jpg
    5 shower square &#104.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 7,742
  • 2 shower toilet &#11.jpg
    2 shower toilet &#11.jpg
    39.1 KB · Views: 3,770
  • 3 tiolet vent ro&#11.jpg
    3 tiolet vent ro&#11.jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 2,707
  • 4 Tank rough in..jpg
    4 Tank rough in..jpg
    74.9 KB · Views: 2,511
  • 1 Entire system..jpg
    1 Entire system..jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 2,728

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score