Softener Test Results and looking for recommendations

Users who are viewing this thread

mikebryan

Reaction score
I had my water tested a few months ago, after having a culligan water softener and RO for the last year and it is still staining sinks, appliances, etc.
I'm new to well water, so just went with what the neighbors have. I don't believe a water softener is the right option, so I got the KAR Labs test kit, these are the results from the water coming from the well not going through the softener, and have uploaded the results.

I'm looking for the best solution to avoid staining and be usable for everyday use. Like I said I'm pretty sure a water softener is not the answer for me, thanks for any help

Attachments

• 700206.pdf
    97.9 KB · Views: 2,021

Reach4

Reaction score
0.13 mg/L iron is not so high that a softener could not reasonably deal with it. 57.1 mg/L hardness is less than 4 grains. pH 8.1 is good.

It probably goes without saying, but is the staining rust colored or some other color?

Does the water to the toilet go through the softener? Is the piping to the toilet galvanized steel?

mikebryan

Reaction score
Yes sorry to mention the staining is rust colored and it's the sinks and tubs especially, and yes it's softened water going to them. I just figured with the tds so high in the water it must be causing the staining.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score