Softener Newbie needs help

Users who are viewing this thread

Scotsman

Reaction score
I had a contractor come over to my house yesterday to check out my softener system and apparently the last time it did a regen was December 2014. He said that the control head is shot and the resin would be also as it had sat for that long. He said it would cost me $600 for a new control head and $600 for resin, and after looking online that seems a little extreme to me. While searching I saw videos on how to change the control head and resin myself and it doesn't seem too extreme of a task that I can't do myself.

Can someone help me through this task of what control head I need to purchase and how much resin I need to fix this? Like I said I'm a complete newbie so this is all foreign to me right now.

Bannerman

Reaction score
Post some photos of your current control head and any labels you see on the tank and control. If the softener capacity is not specified, measure the resin tank diameter or circumference so as to calculate the capacity of the tank.

Before buying a new control head and resin, compare the cost for a complete new system as it may turn-out to be more cost effective overall.

Before shopping for a new system, it is most appropriate to establish the appropriate softener capacity for your consumption requirements and your water's hardness level.

Is your water source a private well water or municipal? If a private well, have you had a lab test performed to establish the contents of the water?

Melkus

Reaction score