Sink and dishwasher drain to abandoned washer standpipe

Users who are viewing this thread

pnbrownsr

Reaction score
Hello, I have been viewing this forum for several years and have gotten some excellent advice here, and have as a direct result of this forum replaced all my toilets with Toto Drake toilets. The advice here is outstanding.

My daughter and her husband recently bought a home in central Florida near us which was built in 1955 and is all on a slab with a septic system. There is an interior wall of her kitchen where there used to be a desk and washing machine. She would like to install a sink and dishwasher on that wall. (Please note that we DO NOT want to drain a washing machine there.) We were thinking of draining the sink into the old washer standpipe which is 1 1/2" ID galvanized with no visible trap. I pushed a hand operated snake as far as I could down the pipe and it bottomed out at about 18" or so below the top of the slab. I poured water down the standpipe and heard a little gurgle so I am thinking there is a trap under the slab. Hidden in the wall behind and just to the left of the standpipe is a vent stack, and nothing else is venting on that stack.

Photo is here 20131217_112358(0).jpg

Somewhere on the site I read that you can not have 2 traps in series, and if that is the case then I guess we could not use the standpipe to drain the sink and DW, and I do not like the idea of no access to the trap if the standpipe is permitted to be the drain. The sink would be just to the right of the standpipe, so I think we can meet the trap arm distance. requirements. I can give better measurements if that would help

The other option we were thinking of is tying into the vent stack, if that would be permissible. How do I best verify that the vent stack does indeed go all the way down thru the slab to the main drain to the septic?

All advice will be much appreciated.

Pat

Asktom

Reaction score