Simple shower rough-in question

Users who are viewing this thread

backwaterdogs

Reaction score
Hello,

I have kohler thermostatic valve that I have roughed in, and I think all seems well, but wanted to check to what folks here think, before I cover it up and start tiling.

Please let me know if you see anything awry with my installation..thanks so much!

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Keeping in mind that I'm not a pro, it looks pretty good to me. One thing to double-check is to verify that the depth is good for whatever finished wall you are putting up. There is probably a plastic plaster guard for the valve to protect it from crud while you finish the wall. It also has marks on it for min/max projection. Personally, I prefer the valve to be back in the wall so it projects close to the minimum. Some people don't like the look of the valve's trim sticking way out if you are at the other extreme. If it is too far out, you can't do anything except tear the wall up and move it back. If it ends up too deep, you can get extension kits, so it is important to watch those limits.

backwaterdogs

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply!

Yes, the plastic guard got busted off...but I think it is positioned correctly...I will be drywalling over the valve, then kerdi over the drywall and finally about a 1/4" tile...so roughly 3/4" plus the witdth of kerdi and thinset.

So, the cock-eyed cold supply doesn't bother you if it doesn't leak?

thanks again

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The pipes can go anywhich way in the wall...it's the valve's position that matters so the trim lines up. Once it's covered up, who cares (as long as it doesn't leak).

Kingsotall

Plunger/TurdPuncher
Reaction score
That is a shower nipple right¿ (a male adapter, sweated onto a length of copper pipe that's been capped)