Shower valve that's easiest to install in block construction

Users who are viewing this thread

bigwooo

Reaction score
I'm building a new home in Mexico. The construction is 8" block. I've been looking at shower valve assemblies and trying to decide if one or another would be easier to install in block construction. Most of the installation packets I've read only describe installation in wood frame construction. I have very little plumbing experience, but will have to learn to assure everything is installed correctly.

I'm up in the U.S. shopping for valves. I just looked a Hansgrohe valve cartridge assembly at a local plumbing outlet and installation seems pretty straight forward, however installation aside, I'm looking for quality and ease of maintenance also. It seems a lot of experienced plumbers prefer Moen however.

Do any of you with installation experience have a preferred brand of shower valve assembly for both quality, and ease of installation/securing the assembly within block construction?

Thanks.

Last edited:

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
This is one "experienced plumber" who prefers Delta, and only uses Moen when the customer supplies it. ALL valves have the same problem when used in a block wall. The block has to be cut around them, and then pieces "buttered" into place to fill the opening, and finally the tile is installed over it. But most would just install a layer of cement board over the entire wall, because of the waterproofing at the shower pan, or safety membrane.

Last edited:

bigwooo

Reaction score