Shower schematic for Hansgrohe or Moen hand-shower, shower head and rain shower

Users who are viewing this thread

El Jefe

Reaction score
I have no plumbing experience, so I'm looking for some guidance on how to best run the water lines in a shower. I'd like three outlets: Hand-shower, regular wall-mounted shower head, and a ceiling-mounted rain shower. I'd like to operate any of these alone or in any combination of two. I probably won't need all three together, but heck, why not (don't answer that).

I've been reading a ton, and still feel like I'm going to buy a pile of stuff that won't work this way. Could use an experienced eye on my plan. Here's what I'm thinking:

• 1/2" supply lines connecting to Hansgrohe Thermostatic valve w/ volume control and integrated diverter (3-way: A, B or A&B)Hansgrohe Thermostatic Valve with Volume and Diverter
  • Two lines from the thermostatic valve: 1) leads to the rainshower (through attic, b/w joists, surrounded with the loose insulation (Washington winters are generally mild); and 2) a line leading to a secondary diverter that can do A/B/A&B combination. Hansgrohe 10" AIR Rain-shower
  • From the diverter (Hansgrohe Trio/Quattro Trim), two lines that lead to the shower head (undecided what model) and rainshower (also undecided what model).

Would this setup work? Or, is there a better layout?

Also, would another configuration of spray units work better (for example, have the handshower by itself and pair the rainshower and regular shower head together behind the 2nd diverter)?

Any suggestions on the specific shower head or handshower that I should look into? I'll probably just get something that's in the same Hansgrohe line. Alternatively, there is some Moen trim (Voss) that matches the faucets we bought for the vanity already. However, I'm leaning towards unmatching trim, even though this is unfashionable, simply because the Hansgrohe marketing did a better job making me think I should spend more money on their stuff.