Should I install mixer valve? sweating toilet

Users who are viewing this thread

Molo

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have two toilets that are sweating badly, i just replaced a large patch of subfloor because of rot. I want to stop this from happening, what can i do!!!???? Will a mixer valve work? Any advice on installing one and what brand to use? I have no experience with mixer valves.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks, Molo

toilet-mixing-valve.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Molo

Reaction score
Need More Help!!! Toilet Sweating, Rotting Floor!

Thanks for the link Verde,

Based on the info gathered from the link, i t appears that tank insulation kits are not reliable. So....... I believe I have two options.

1. Install Mixer Valve
or
2. Buy new toilets (designed to prevent tank condensation)
Questions:
Which is better option, mixer valves or toilets?

Can anyone suggest brands or techniques of installing a mixer valve?

Does anyone kow of toilet brands/models that prevent tank condensation?
Any input is much appreciated, i need to stop the condensation from rotting the floors!

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
You can go with flapperless tanks,

Pressure assist tanks

or Insulated tanks.

Toto and other brands make insulated tanks as an option

In the Toto Drake, it's a CST744SD

Most of the time though if a tank is dripping, it's a leaking flapper causing the problem.

Molo

Reaction score
Terry, are Mixer Valves a Bad Idea??

Hello Terry,
Thanks for the reply, from the oracle himself. So are mixer valves a bad idea entirely? I'm pretty sure the toilet seals are ok. And a mixer valve would be cheaper than 2 new toilets.

Thanks for the response,
Molo

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
They're not a bad idea. But you have to tap into a hot water line. If there isn't one close by, it can be a pain. Maybe you can just buy a couple of insulated tanks that will fit.

Last edited:

Cass

Plumber