Should I even bother putting this drywall up?

Users who are viewing this thread

Reaction score
I originally had this piece of drywall as two pieces, and quickly learned that I couldnt do the whole section at once. But apparently not before a corner got snagged against something and broke. Can I fix this corner, or should I not even bother putting it up? It will go behind kerdi membrane and drywall. This may seem like a stupid question but I've never done drywall before.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

JohnfrWhipple

BATHROOM DESIGN & BUILD
Reaction score
....This may seem like a stupid question but I've never done drywall before....!

Well if you are planning on using Kerdi over the drywall then you best make sure you do not make the slightest of mistakes. Drywall is a horrible choice as a tile backer board - even if covered with Kerdi.

If you must use drywall at least switch out your waterproofing to something like Ardex 8+9. I stopped using Schluter's products - they make the Kerdi you are planning on using. The products are cheap and thin. Great if your packing containers for shipping. Not the best in my opinion if your building a waterproof shower.

The corner you nicked is a nothing repair. Remember if you use Kerdi make sure to use cheap un modified thin-set. Both below and above the membrane. Schluter does not want any modified setting materials on their jobs. Modified thin-sets seem to work better. Have more flexibility. Offer up better holding power. Things like that.

But non-modified thin-set when mixed perfectly and installed flawlessly are fine too - or so Jim likes to tell us.

The best backer board behind any waterproofing right now sold in North America is WonderBoard Lite. You should leave some concrete board and drywall outside for a few weeks. Which one do you think will mold and decompose first.....

think

think