Shock / Disinfect Shallow Well

Users who are viewing this thread

@Delaware

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to wells and well ownership and my new place has a well which I am trying to learn more about.

The well pump is under a manufactured home in Delaware. The well pump is a Pentair STA-RITE FN / FSN Shallow Well Jet Pump.

Here's a pic of the setup (I'd fixed some stuff which is in this pic):
irSZRXY.jpg

It appears to be this kind of setup:
tvq9skr.png

This is near the shore and the ground is sand so I assume it's a driven sand point. It also has only one pipe going into the ground.

I am having issues with iron bacteria. It's showing in the clear filter casing and in the toilet tank. I want to resolve this, but I have some questions:

1. How can I shock / disinfect this type of well?
All of the instructions I'd found were for wells with casings, where you simply remove the well cap, etc. I can pour the solution into the pipe which goes into the ground, but I can't recirculate it..

About 30' away there are 2 PVC pipes sticking out of the ground. One is one-foot above the ground, 3" / 4" in diameter and capped. I did not see a plate / plaque / label on this. I did not try to remove the cap - it looks like the glue-on type. There's another 1' 1/4" pipe 2 feet above ground, capped with a threaded plug. It looks like a sewer clean out, but it's really small. I didn't know if my well had any other places I could dump the shock solution into.

Edit. Adding pic of above pipes:
JpkoE0T.jpg

2. Iron Bacteria was not a problem 1 year prior. 1 year later it is. Did I cause it to show up?
I had the place for 1 year and no issues w/ iron bacteria. 3 things changed with the plumbing since I had it:
1. I opened the well system over the winter so I could winterize it and later add some unions and other fittings to allow for easier winterizing and pump servicing. The PO never winterized as it was a full-time residence. Did opening the system introduce iron bacteria?