Shallow Well Jet Pump Recommendations?

Users who are viewing this thread

HiQ

Reaction score
I'm a jet pump newbie and I desperately need some help with shallow well jet pump recommendations.

We purchased an acreage with a dug well (3' ish culvert looking pipe vertically down into the ground) that is our only source of water. The current pump is a Jacuzzi (now Franklin?) 7C-S single pipe setup (shallow). It has been getting progressively louder in the year we have owned this place and I assume it is starting to go (date stamp is 1996 or something like that).

I would love to move to a submersible, but I honestly have no clue what the dug well depth is or how much water there is. That is something I can look into when summer rolls around and I can get some measurements done.

The Jacuzzi pumps into a pressure tank with the following specs:
AquaFlo #144
44G
max working pressure 100 psi
factory recharge 38 psi
drawdown 11.9 gas @ 40/60 psi

I did some tests with one shower running. Nothing else was using water. The shower would run for 2 mins 45 seconds before pressure would drop from 58 psi to 40 psi and kick on the pump. The pump would run for 50 seconds bringing the pressure back up to 58 psi (while the shower continued to run).

Anyways, hopefully that's enough to get some sort of recommendation on a replacement pump. I'd like to swap the Jacuzzi out for now with a new pump and keep it as a backup once it's rebuilt (new bearings?).

I have heard that Goulds and Sta-Rite make good pumps. I was looking at a Goulds J7S, but then I started wondering if there was a reason to move to a 1HP pump (mainly because the price difference between the 3/4 and 1HP wasn't much at all). Would moving to a 1HP be a good idea? I assume it'd just provide more GPM if we somehow were to max out the 3/4HP and otherwise run for a shorter cycle time.

I'm completely open to shallow well jet pump recommendations in either 3/4HP or 1HP (if you think it'd be a good idea). Thanks everyone!