Rust/Sediment from Tub Faucet Only

Users who are viewing this thread

Laker Fan Dan

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have seen similar questions through the forum but as I am not a plumbing expert I thought I would try to ask it again to see what people thought.

I had a home remodel done, which included complete bathroom remodels. This was completed just this month. We didn't replace all house piping but my contractor said he did replace some galvanized with copper piping.

Anyways, given the circumstances I suspect this is a "localized" issue around the new installation. That said, my contractor says that he is not responsible because he didn't do a full re-pipe. Please note:

1) When I purchased the home and used the faucet prior to remodel, I don't recall seeing any rusty water from any faucets.
2) The old spa/jacuzzi style tub was torn out and we installed the free-standing tub in the photo below. The tub faucet used to be on the left-side wall, but now it is on the front-facing wall as you can see in the photo. So the contractor did install at least some new plumbing for the tub faucet.
3) Anytime I turn on the faucet, I get rusty water immediately, which then immediately clears. If I don't turn it on for just 24 hours, I immediately get dark rusty water and black charcoal-type sediment, which then immediately clears.
4) From the shower next to the tub, I never get any rusty water (nor from any other faucet in the house)
5) Both the shower (T17264) and tub (Delta T14164) faucets are Delta T-Series fixtures, and have the same Delta Rough-In Valve (Delta https://www.deltafaucet.com/bathroom/product/r10000-unws)

Does anyone know what the issue could be? I have read it may be a cast iron nipple. How can the contractor check/remediate this issue? Can this be done without tearing out the tile wainscot?

Thank you for your thoughts.

Attachments

• IMG_3993.JPG
    IMG_3993.JPG
    74.6 KB · Views: 999
Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score