Running a gas line for gas range....

Users who are viewing this thread

Rfsmith48

Reaction score
Hi,

Not a perfect fit for the water heater forum, but pretty close...

We are running a gas line from lower level utility room to a gas range the in the Kitchen. Run is about 6 feet and goes thru the floor. 1/2" line should be adequate.

Questions:
1. Do I need a building permit for this work? I am planning on hiring a plumber, since I have no experience running gas lines.
2. Is this a good application for a flex line? The line in the utility room will run next to the ceiling. The valve in the kitchen will be pinned to the wall.

Thanks,

Rog

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
It's a good use of CSST gas piping.
You will need to have the BTU rating of the range for the plumber. Those things came in all sizes these days.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Even when the gas range connection is 1/2", the supply line to it should be 3/4". "legally", a permit is required, but the plumber will decide whether the job warrants the extra cost and hassle of one. CSST tubing has to be protected from damage, so running it exposed on the surface of the wall might not be a good idea.

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
In my city, an inspector has to approve all new gas connections, and the inspection to include gas pressure test that takes 2 days to perform.

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
When did they start allowing flex to be run between floors ?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
CSST isn't the same thing as a typical supply line to an appliance.

DonL

Reaction score
CSST isn't the same thing as a typical supply line to an appliance.

They (HOAs) have been trying to ban it.

To Many House Explosions have been blamed on it. So they say.

Not sure what brand it was.

It may work fine, for awhile.

Rfsmith48

Reaction score
Guys,