Rough In Vent Stack

Users who are viewing this thread

Kamabuki

Reaction score
Greetings All
I've been reading all the great information and help everyone is providing on this Forum so I thought I would join up. I am currently stubbing in plumbing for a downstairs bathroom sink with a kitchen sink above on the second level. My question is regarding the Vent stack. Reference attached drawing - is this an acceptable stack up?
Vent Stack.jpg

Pigrew

Reaction score
I'm a newbie at this, but I'd wonder what the horizontal distance is between the sinks and the soil stack. My understanding is that there is a maximum horizontal distance between the p-trap and the soil stack (which depends on the local code). Also, (please correct me if wrong), but there is no need for the AAV to be many feet above the sink. The AAV that I just purchased says that it only needs to be 4 inches above the trap.

Furthermore, I don't think that you would need both an AAV and a vent for the upstairs. You need a vent (somewhere), but if that fixture is vented, you don't need an AAV.

It'd be great if someone could confirm or reject my above statements... I need to figure out these issues for my house too.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Each fixture must be vented within 42" of the trap horizontally.

The upstairs will need a vent
and the downstairs will need a vent.

The vent needs to be between the p-trap and the main waste stack.

A standard vent is much preferred. Mechanical vents will fail and need replacement at some point. They also must be accessible and can not be buried. If they are in a wall, then you need a vented cover that allows air to the valve.

Kamabuki

Reaction score