rough in problem?

Users who are viewing this thread

Skatergreg

Reaction score
I just completed my basement bathroom...one year later all that is left is toilet install My rough in is 11 1/2". I forgot to account for drywall! Oops a do it yourselfer mistake.... I have bought a toto carusoe and tried installing it but the tank bumped the wall!!!! Any suggestions ? Should I buy a different toilet that has more leeway ? And what may that be ??? Help?? This is my first time posting but I have enjoyed all the info for the past year and a half.............Skatergreg

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I know a Dartmouth will fit, and I think a Drake will also. There may well be other Totos that are rated as a 12" but that will fit in less space.

Skatergreg

Reaction score
how to determine what will work

How does one figure out which one will work ? I guess I can return my carusoe and get the drake....it looks and sounds like a similar one as the carusue ??? Hope the price is similar !?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
If you don't have the tank bolts tight, the tank can sit at an angle. You don't want to have them so tight you are putting porcelain to porcelain tension on the intersection, but if you get it to within say a piece of paper gap, see if that makes any difference. The manufacturer's spec sheet will show the nominal gap behind the toilet when installed at a 12" rough-in. While there are differences in sample to sample, Toto is possibly the most consistent of them all.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
measurement

Now you know why plumbers seldom put the opening at exactly 12", because we do not trust the carpenters and wall finishers to install the wall exactly where we were told it would be.

Skatergreg

Reaction score