Rough-in for concrete over PVC DWV

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by jmprTL, Feb 28, 2011.

1. jmprTL

jmprTL New Member

What is standard practice at the rough-in stage for PVC DWV piping that penetrates a slab floor? In particular, how are vents and drains terminated in (or above or below) the slab before the concrete work is done?

Are all drains/vents brought through the slab and left projecting above the level of the concrete, a foot or so? (Presumably toilet drains are then cut off to finished floor level.) Or is there some standard practice that leaves the piping at or below concrete level at rough-in, and then the piping is extended through the slab after the concrete work and structural framing are completed?

I'm an amateur with some experience with under-slab DWV plumbing but in the past have used what must be non-standard approaches to this question. (I believe I'm adequately informed/experienced with pipe sizing and pipe layouts including under-slab practices, and can satisfy local building codes.)
  2. dlarrivee

dlarrivee New Member

Most drains will simply be proud of the finished concrete elevation.

Bath tubs and showers I would box out the area for the p-trap and allow myself to adjust the trap when the tub/shower is set.

Toilets I would pad the outside of the pipe to allow the hub of a closet flange to reach below the elevation of the concrete, but that depends on what type of flooring you plan to use. I would use an inside pipe-cutter to adjust the height if it wasn't quite right.
  3. hj

hj Moderator & Master Plumber Staff Member

we do the complete drain/vent system prior to pouring the slab so the entire network can be water tested and approved at one time.
  4. BenWara

BenWara New Member