Review of Tuscan Tile Leveling System

Users who are viewing this thread

DougB

Reaction score
Why buy a tile leveling system? I did because I’m not a pro, and I had 300 sq/ft of 12x12 wall tile and 70 sq/ft of 12x24 floor tile. I wanted to eliminate lippage.

I researched several tile leveling systems, before choosing the Tuscan Leveling System (TLS). The reason I liked it was because the T straps that pull against the tile are thin, and mechanically pulling the strap against the cap looked secure, and ergonomic. Here’s what the straps, and caps look like:

TLS_Straps.jpg

You need a special tool to pull and tighten the straps. They have a ‘standard’ tool for $50, or a ‘pro’ tool for about $200. I opted for the standard one:

TLS_Tool.jpg

Right off – the standard tool has ‘cushioned’ grips. This cushioning material is a joke – it is not durable – the top handle grip arrived split, and soon fell off, the bottom cushion grip is split. This is after 250 sq/ft of tile.

I used a 3/8 x ¼ notched trowel, Ardex x77, and I back buttered all tiles. The straps need to be hydrated, I soaked them in water for at least 12 hrs.

What I found: The combination of the back buttered tile and the Ardex created so much of a suction force that I had to thin the Ardex (not a lot), otherwise the straps would break before pulling adjacent tiles into alignment. Even at that, some straps would break before the tiles were aligned. The instructions are to use a strap 2” in from the corner. What this amounts to is 2 straps for each side – I needed to exert enough force to align the tiles. Even at that, I sometimes would need to use the trowel (on the tile to be lifited) to break the suction of the thinset, so the TLS could level the tile.

The TLS did help in leveling the tiles.

I cannot recommend the TLS for several reasons: