Rerouting Drain pipes in concrete slab: DIY or call a pro?

Users who are viewing this thread

Andy Ring

Reaction score
I am a fairly accomplished DIY plumber, but all my previous projects have been on bathrooms and kitchens where the plumbing was accessible from beneath and in wood framing. Now, I'm contemplating renovating a bathroom that is on a concrete slab (not a basement, however). The toilet and shower locations will be swapped, so I will need to redo all the DWV lines for these fixtures which are in or under the concrete slab.

Soo...with that intro, is this something I can do myself? If so, what would you recommend? A wetsaw? A rotary hammer? Any advice would be appreciated. I think the slab is fairly thin, but it's hard to tell. Drain lines are PVC. If this wasn't in concrete, I'd have no problems...

Thanks!

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
If you want to work with what you own, and it is no more than about 3" thick with no steel; you can get masonry cutoff wheels that will fit your skil-saw. Make a groove about 3/8" deep where you want to break the concrete (both sides of trench); then attack it with a sledge hammer. Don't try to work in less than a foot wide.

It makes a lot of dust, but you can try to keep it wetted down. You should have a dust mask.

When it comes to restoring the concrete, I like to mix my own. The SackCrete is always short on sand and cement and it makes for a poor surface. One sack of Type 1 Portland cement, plus GOOD sand and gravel, will make about 5 cubic feet of concrete, which is at least 600 pounds of SackCrete (number of sacks depending on what HD is selling at the moment).

johnapril

Reaction score
Ladies and Gentlemen,

Thank you for being such a rich resource of information. This is my first post. I would like to piggy-back on the subject.