Removing fiberglass one piece shower and replacing with something.

Users who are viewing this thread

AZTeacher

Reaction score
So I am a teacher on Christmas break, and my wife decided she wants me to to remodel a bathroom in the house. I have a one piece fiberglass shower that I am pretty sure I can tear out, but I am not sure what to replace it with. Ideally I would like to buy a shower pan and tile the walls. I don't know if I am handy enough to try to make a mud shower pan for tiling.

The problem I am having is that I can't find a shower pan that will fit my current drain measurements. It is a 60" shower stall, but the drain is around 14 1/2" inches from the wall. I can't use a retrofit for this drain whole.

Do you know where I might locate a shower pan with a 14 1/2" measurement for the drain?

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score
From what I judge your skill level to be, I wouldn't recommend that you try a mud pan. Even if you do go with a kit, you still need to be fairly skilled with the construction.

Since you only plan to do this project while you are on break, I suggest you go with a fiberglass shower pan, support it with a mortar bed, and then use a backerboard/tile setup for the shower surround. You will not be able to find anything to match your existing drain, you will have to move/modify the drain in any case to match the shower pan product you decide to install.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
With a drain location there, it sounds like it may have been originally plumbed for a tub rather than a shower. If you plan to get this inspected, you'll need a 2" drain line - you might have a 1.5" one there now. This can complicate your efforts.