Removing and installing wall to wall tubs?

Discussion in 'Shower & Bathtub Forum & Blog' started by patrick181, Mar 23, 2011.

1. patrick181

patrick181 New Member

Hey guys first post here. Brief introduction, Im an IT contractor and have worked in building maintenance for 10 years in the far past. I do all of my own handywork. I can do everything well, especially good with millwork, plumbing and electrical...but I have not done a tub yet.

I have a 5' wide cookie cutter bathroom with an 80's fiberglass tub/shower one piece combo. I will be "sawzalling" it out and replacing it with an Americast tub and either tile or marble panel surrounds. My question is since the tub is basically stud to stud in the bathroom (wider than the drywalled area), will I need to destroy all of the walls to get the new one in it in? I am hoping to save the walls by walking the new tub into place vertically and flipping it down into place.

[video=youtube;gx2QTY7oipQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gx2QTY7oipQ[/video]

If you watch this video you'll see the exact situation I will be dealing with. In fact, thats the same tub. You will see a remark on the video which asks the same question but the answer doesn't tell me a whole lot. If you have experience with this let me know what you did.

Thanks.
  2. johnjh2o1

johnjh2o1 Plumbing Contractor for 49 years

That will work as long as the apron at the rear of the tub can drop into the stud bay.

John
  3. jimbo

jimbo Plumber

You will need some demo. It will easier to visualize when you have the tub on site. It will start out on its side. And as mentioned, you can plan for the tub apron to slide down beteen studs until the tub is horizontal and plumb with the walls.

Basically , it is a geometry exercise, and can be done. There will of necessity be some wall repair....no worries mate.
  4. hj

hj Moderator & Master Plumber Staff Member