Reducing a Pump's Output Flow Rate

Users who are viewing this thread

zapatero

Reaction score
Can a pump's output flow rate be reduced by inserting a valve at the pump's outlet? Specifically, I am talking about a centrifugal submersible pump, and about inserting a globe or gate valve at the pump's outlet.

I have been given both yes and no answers to this question by people whose opinions I respect. Please tell me your opinion(s).

I can provide more detail as well as my reasons if you want them; I am just trying to not complicate things.

Thank you very much for your thoughts.

Reach4

Reaction score
Yes. You should also look up "Dole valve" too, for a valve that is calibrated to limit the flow rate. You must keep sufficient flow to cool the pump.

I am not a pro.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
That is exactly what a Cycle Stop Valve does except that it restricts the pump output to match the amount being used down to as little as 1 GPM. People who understand pumps know this is a good thing. People who do not understand pumps think restricting the pumps output is bad for the pump. Unfortunately there are more people who think they know how pumps work but really don't have a clue, than there are people who really do understand pumps.

zapatero

Reaction score
<grin> Thank you for your amusing reply valveman! <grin>

I am the first to admit that I DON'T know pumps. (Thus my original question.) After pondering the question for a while it seems to me that reducing a pump's output flow with a valve on the output side is equivalent to moving up and to the left on that pump's performance curve isn't it? In other words -- it increases the operating head, which decreases the output flow rate.