Reduce excessive TWH Cycling

Users who are viewing this thread

B West

Reaction score
The wife, and others, haven't or won't adapt to having a TWH and the nuances in how they operate. I'm specifically talking about hot water use at the kitchen sink. The hot water faucet can be turned on and off while manually washing dishes 4 or more times a minute. I'm afraid this is going to cause an early death to the water heater. What I am mulling over is to put a flow switch at the sink operating an integral timer so than whenever the faucet was turned on the rcirculation pump at the sink would run for about 30 seconds or so (to be determined) to limit the amount of water heater cycling. I would have the timer set so whenever there was flow the circulation pump would run for 30 seconds and is re-settable if flow reinitiates before the time-out occurs. I have some experience with an AIROTRONICS timer that has a re-settable single shot function. I have a Grundfos 3 speed pump that will initiate the TWH on all speeds. Use a spring type check valve on discharge of pump to return water to the cold water supply. I think I can find a GEMS flow switch that would initiate the timer/pump at .25 GPM. I don't need a lot of re-circulation, just enough to keep the heater running. The other added benefit is that I could initiate circulation when needing hot water without running all the water down the drain waiting for hot water to show up. Also, heater is using somewhat warmer water in the lines in the house instead of cold well water. Does anyone have any improvements or comments about this design? I can construct this for about $175. Thanks!

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score