Recommendations for a new Toilet: I am a NOOB so please adivse me!

Users who are viewing this thread

Deathlok

Reaction score
Ok, I am replacing my upstairs toilet. I was at home depot here in Canada. Where else should I go to look at toilets? Plumbing stores?

Which ones would you recommend? I read the thread on american standard champ model. I will stay far , far away from that one! :D

I would like to get a TOTO, but I am not sure who would sell them in Edmonton! I know home depot does not.

How about the Kohler Cimarron™ Comfort Height Elongated Toilet? It has very good reviews on the home depot site. But are those "real" reviews or is home depot temperating with them & putting up false review?

Or the Kohler Wellworth?

Last edited by a moderator:

Bassman

DIY Member
Reaction score
Go to Terry Love's website and read everything about toilets. Based on what I learned there I bought the Toto Ultramax and never before have I been tempted to wax poetic about a toilet. It's on the expensive side, but worth every penny IMO. Go to a real plumbing supply house and have them order you one.

Report on low flow toilets

SamC

Reaction score
There is a dealer locator at the Totousa web site that includes Canadian postal codes. I randomly picked one of the codes for Edmonton and the locator found three dealers.

Deathlok

Reaction score
I entered in my postal code & found 2 places. Thanks. I am going to go check em out tomorrow.

:)

SO, is TOTO really that good ? Everyone here seems to feel it is worth the extra $$$$

Mike50

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Deathlok said:
I entered in my postal code & found 2 places. Thanks. I am going to go check em out tomorrow.

:)

SO, is TOTO really that good ? Everyone here seems to feel it is worth the extra $$$$

Yea take it from an non-pro......Toto is that good.
Both of our high end plumbing showrooms use them in their store restrooms out here.