re-using fittings

Users who are viewing this thread

samlin7

Reaction score
Hi

This may sound stupid, but i am fairly new at this plumbing thing,

I soldered a brass fitting to a m-rated copper pipe, Now I hear that I should use a L-rated copper pipe. Luckily it is a short piece and easy to undo and put in the L-pipe.

My question is can I reuse the brass fitting (a 1/2" sweat joint on one end and a 1/2" threaded female end on the other) once I unsolder it?

Thanks
sam

Construct30

Reaction score
Yes if you need to. Don't over heat it. Getting the solder out to put the new pipe can be a pain and you will have to re do the threaded fitting if it is installed, you will burn the paste or tape out.

Last edited:

samlin7

Reaction score
Thanks,

Those little things add up in price if i keep messing up

GrumpyPlumber

Licensed Grump
Reaction score
Type M and Type L have the same O.D. (outside diameter).
The wall thickness is different and it effects the
I.D. (inside diameter)

samlin7

Reaction score
HUMMM,

So would it be ok for me to leave my M-rating copper and not change it? It is for a bathroom sink and the run is about 4' and not near an outside wall??

Construct30

Reaction score
I use L in outside walls, sometimes, and under ground or for hotwater heat.

In my opinion the M is fine from what you said. The L is better I won't say it isn't. Some people always use it some go for less expensive and easier to work with. It does have a bit to do with water conditions in you local area as far as how long it will last. Many sources say that using thicker copper will not help failure due to water conditions enough to be worth it.

I've had customers insist on all type L and I use it. I look at the cheap fittings in use today and wonder if it matters.

Last edited:

GrumpyPlumber

Licensed Grump
Reaction score
HUMMM,

So would it be ok for me to leave my M-rating copper and not change it? It is for a bathroom sink and the run is about 4' and not near an outside wall??