Rain Soft softner problems

Users who are viewing this thread

wikid321

Reaction score
I currently have a rain soft water softer that was installed by previous owners. Model number is 30906. I dont have any manuals that came with it at all. All ive been doing for last 5 years is put salt in. Well what ive noticed is when it does its back flush (dont know if proper term) It goes on for hours. When it does stop it still has a trickling flow from that hose. Any ideas what could be issue. Like i said i dont even know how to use this thing.

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
Could be a lot of things. Is the timer properly set? What is the backwash time supposed to be? If you are not sure what the water conditions are then adjusting the settings is hit or miss. Besides that there may be mechanical problems with the timer or the valve. In short, we need more information. Get a water test done, take a picture of the valve with the cover off and we can go from there.

wikid321

Reaction score
Thanks for reply. I have no idea how to work this thing. Ive tried numerous time online to look for some sort of manual. I've also contacted manufacturer and nothing. Here is apicture of it and i just took all salt out and cleaned that tank. Its doing a forced purge now see if that helps. watersoftner.jpg

Akpsdvan

In the Trades
Reaction score
For starts it is the Rainsoft twist on the Fleck 5000 proflo valve.
The water to the drain is because your system is going to need a rebuild of the main piston and seal pack. By looking up the fleck proflo or fleck 5000 you will be able to find the parts needed.
http://www.pentairwatertreatment.com/en-us/Products/ResidentialControlValves/Fleck+ProFloSXT.htm
The way to control the valve is different but the working of the main part is the same.
And here is the manual for your valve and timer
http://www.rainsoftofthesouthland.com/manuals/AMC75T.pdf