PVC coupler dry fit is too tight --- will cement lubricate it?

Users who are viewing this thread

Bromel

Reaction score
I am working with PVC welding for the first time. I am raising the height of a toilet flange using a coupler and a new section of 3" PVC. The coupler does not slide "easily" onto the PVC pipe. It goes on to the shoulder all the way, but with considerable effort. I've never used PVC glue before. Will it lubricate the coupler and allow it to slide on more easily? Or do I need to sand down the surfaces so they slide together more easily?

Thanks.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Neither ABS or PVC will "dry fit".

When you prime and glue the PVC, it will fit together fine.

PVC,
1) first use the purple primer
2) then the glue.
Coat both the pipe, and the inside of the fitting with both primer and glue.
3) push together with a swerving motion. This smears the solvent between the pipe and fitting better.

Last edited:

Dunbar Plumbing

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area
Website
www.KoldBreeze.com
If you use glue it is going to become a permanent situation. Gauge your pipe cuts first by measuring socket to socket, then use cleaner and glue and make your connection.

Holding the pipe to the side is a better way to gauge correct pipe lengths. Dry fitting is more time consuming and doesn't always guarantee a correct fit, especially if you don't push the pipe to the stops.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
Don't sand the surfaces.

I'm surprised that you were able to seat the pipe to the shoulder, but maybe with some DWV fittings that is possible. It is never possible with Schedule 40 pressure pipe fittings.

I have a process that has never failed me in PVC assembly:

1. Cut the end square, using tools as necessary consistent with skill.
2. Deburr the end of the pipe.
3. Prime both parts with purple primer, but don't let it puddle in the socket.