Problems With In-Ground Sprinkler System -- First Time Use

Users who are viewing this thread

agoodman82

Reaction score
Hi all,

I was wondering if someone could help me out here because I have no prior experience with using/troubleshooting an in-ground sprinkler system. I am a new home owner and about a week ago I turned my water on for the first time this season after the prior home-owners had properly winterized the system. The system itself is set up in 5 different zones with 25 sprinkler heads total. After turning on the water (by moving two valves parallel to the water pipe) I could hear the water flow through the pipes.

I ran a test cycle of all 5 zones and other than a few heads which didn't pop up, and a damaged head that resulted in decreased water pressure for a single zone, everything seemed to be working fine. I set a program to run which seemed to work flawlessly for 3 days straight. However, today when I tried to run a test cycle this morning... nothing happened. The controller box indicated a cycle was running, but no sprinkler heads had popped up, and I could not hear the water flowing through the pipes like I had in the past when a zone was running. I tried checking the power to the controller box, which was fine -- I even hit the reset button on the box just to be sure, but no luck there. Then I checked the wiring from the controller box to the 5 valves (don't really know what to call them) which were in an "irrigation control box" in the ground. The wiring seems fine and there were no loose wires or any cuts. I don't know why for a few days the system was working, and then without me doing anything (no digging or gardening which may have accidentally cut a wire or pipe in the ground etc) the system just stopped working.