Pressure tank cycles quickly and often...please help

Users who are viewing this thread

Mmarceau

Reaction score
I am in my first house with a well. I have noticed my pressure tank getting progressively worse over the past couple years. I have tried hooking up a compressor to it and pumping it out but that didn't seem to work. It was a small compressor. I will try a bigger one if I need to.

Anyhow, currently I get a drawdown of about 3 or 4 cups of water before it cycles and I am worried about my pump. I have a schrader valve on the side 3/4 of the way to the top. The other night I tried to run it dry by leaving a faucet open and turning the pump off. That didn't seem to work, and when I pressed on the schrader valve water sprayed out. I'm no expert but I'd say that isn't good. How can I hook a compressor up to it if it's going to spray water back into the compressor?

Another thing the tank is installed only about 2 inches off the floor and I can't see a drain valve anywhere around the bottom of the tank. Can anyone tell me what I can do to temporarily fix the tank or at least get my drawdown back up to a couple gallons at least. The tank is a pretty decent size, maybe 15 inches across and 30 or 32 inches tall. Any questions that you may have, just ask and I will do my best to answer them. Thanks in advance.

R

Rancher

I have a schrader valve on the side 3/4 of the way to the top.
This sounds like you have a non-bladder tank, that fitting that the schrader valve is screwed into is a float valve, used to automatically let excess air out of the tank. You need to tell us what kind of pump you have, submersible, or above ground? Is there any name on the tank? A good air compressor will overcome the water pressure in the tank, and pump air into the top portion of the tank.

Is that fitting that is 3/4 the way up on your tank about 1-1/4" in size?

It sounds like your air-makeup system is not working.

Rancher

Speedbump

Reaction score