Pressure Assist First Flush of the Day

Users who are viewing this thread

telero

Reaction score
We've got a couple toilets here where I work that have Flushmate 501-A pressure assists in them, and the first flush in the morning is always incomplete. It kind of starts to flush, then just runs for a while. Sometimes you seem to have to hold the handle a bit and it seems like it's letting the water out and filling at the same time, and at some point it will eventually finish refilling and will then flush normally. This is after sitting overnight without use for about 12 hours. Our maintenance plumber has said "that's they way it works, that's the way it is." I don't think he's a plumber by trade, and they don't want to bring in a real plumber to diagnose it since we can get it to work, but it is kind of annoying. Any ideas to whether this is just the way it is, or if there is something that can be done to troubleshoot it? Thanks.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The Flushmate requires a "bubble of air" to create the flushing pressure. Your toilets must be leaking that bubble out overnight so it only has the static line pressure to flush it. After that, it aspirates air into the tank to recharge the bubble and it will then work until it happens again the next day.

flushmate4_cutaway2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

telero

Reaction score
Is there any adjustment that can be made to stop this from leaking overnight? Or any parts that might need to be replaced? Or is it really just the nature of the beast?

Thanks.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score