plumbing for wall mounted shower

Users who are viewing this thread

Daniel E

Reaction score
Hi. I have a couple of questions for you all. I am not a professional plumber so sorry if I sound dumb! I am working on plumbing for a wall mounted shower fixture that I bought and of course it comes with no instructions, no plumbing template or anything..

I've looked up youtube videos about this but every other one seems to have a mount that attaches to the wall over the plumbing pipes. This one that I have just threads into the plumbing with nothing attaching it to the wall at the valve.

So my thought is that I just have to measure very precisely so that when I screw this on, it is snug up against the shower tile. I plan on using a cpvc stubout with a 1/2" FNPT push fitting on the end to screw the shower valve into. Will this work?

Hopefully my pictures can help explain what I'm talking about.
The first picture is the piece that came with the shower that attaches the handle to the plumbing in the wall.
The second picture shows the tiny hole inside that piece. Is that normal? I know there are flow restrictors but usually I thought it was a gasket that you could take out.
IMG_0713.JPG
IMG_0714.JPG

IMG_0774.jpeg
IMG_2384.jpeg

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score