Pex retrofit Question

Users who are viewing this thread

BrianL

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a DIY replacing polybut. plumbing throughout my 2-story house with PEX. I am doing it piece meal as I renovate the home. My next project is the upstairs bath which has two sinks, toilet and separate shower/bath. That is a total of 5 cold lines and 4 hot. Current setup has a 3/4 line going to the crawlspace directly below the wall containing the plumbing, then seperating out into 1/2 lines to go to the bathroom.

Rather than replacing 9 lines up 2 stories, can I run the 3/4 inch lines (1 hot, 1 cold) up to the bath and then into mini-manifolds? This would be easier for me (by myself) and would seem like a better set up for hot water (hot water at sink, only a short distance then to get hot water to the shower in the mornings).

Thanks guys/gals, I am still learning this plastic plumbing stuff - very different from the copper I am used to!

--Brian

BrianL

Reaction score
Oh, almost forgot to ask. What is typically done with the main line coming into the house? Its polybutylene. Just convert it to PEX as soon as it comes into the crawlspace, or do most people dig it all the way back to the meter and replace?

Thanks again,

--Brian

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
pex

If you already are running a 3/4" to the bathroom area, it seems the individual lines would be shorter if you did it conventionally with tees at each fixture, rather than going to the work of installing a manifold and running everything back to it.

nimrod

master plumber
Reaction score