Once Used Tuscan Leveling System

Users who are viewing this thread

DougB

Reaction score
I finished my master bath, and have no need for my Tuscan leveling system.

I have 200 of the red reusable caps, at least 150 straps, and the standard tool.

I'm asking $100 + shipping.

Vegas_sparky

Digital Billy
Reaction score
If one of the pros doesn't chime in, I'll take it, Doug. Shipping to 89139? I won't start laying my next tile project for a few weeks. I'm still working on rough walls.

JohnfrWhipple

BATHROOM DESIGN & BUILD
Reaction score
I would never use the Tuscan Levelling System. Not even if they gave it to me for free.

Setting tiles under pressure is never a good idea.

Not having 100% thin-set coverage on the perimeter of the tiles and corners a bad idea I think.

DougB

Reaction score
Not having 100% thin-set coverage on the perimeter of the tiles and corners a bad idea I think.

I evaluated the TLS system - it amounts to about 1/2 sq in per strap. With 13" tiles, back buttered, and Ardex X77 - I feel confident of the durability. The strap is really encapsulated in the thinset - so I don't consider it a 'void'. 13 x 13 is 169 sq/in, if I have four straps per tile, I'm only loosing 2 sq/in.

Vegas_sparky

Digital Billy
Reaction score
The last bathroom I used LASH on part of it to help keep it flat. I'm not an expert tile setter, and want the best result I can achieve. It served its purpose, but I didn't like the effort it took to install the wedges laterally, and they occasionally produced small chips on the travertine's edges during installation. Granted, the LASH clips are a bit anchor shaped, the stone was 1/2" thick, and I was sure to install the wedges tight(which might have been too much at times). As far as time goes, it definitely slowed me down, but the time lost was worth the reassurance that things wouldn't move while the thinset cured.