Odd Shower Drain Rough In

Users who are viewing this thread

kweisen

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Appreciate you taking the time to read my question! I recently purchased a house and set about converting a basement bathroom, which previously had a cast iron claw foot tub, into a walk in shower . The previous tub had a drain that was just shoved into the rough opening and not sealed properly. Think of the rough drain being a female fitting and then they used just a smaller diameter pipe for a male type fitting.

The images show the roughed in drain im trying to use for a walk in shower drain. Since I am new at the shower pan game I purchased a "goof proof" shower system (please don't laugh) and this is when I realized a standard shower drain does not fit around the pipe and that there should also not be concrete poured around the pipe. It appears there is definitely a p-trap so I have that going for me but I am stuck with what type of system to use for the drain.... http://imgur.com/a/IZ9jr

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
On a job like this it is normal to have to dig out the trap, cut it off, and then reposition everything to fit the dimensions and type of shower pan that is going to be used. If it is close to right, sometimes it is only a matter of cutting the riser to length and using a pair of 1/8th or 1/16th bends to center the drain.

kweisen

Reaction score
Thanks for the response Cacher_chick! I am pouring my own pan so the drain doesn't have to be moved at all, it just needs an actual drain attached to it. Are you saying I would need to dig out the tube, cut it, attach the proper width tube, and then attach the drain?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score