Newbie to water softeners and Best bang for your buck water softener

Users who are viewing this thread

maximizedmom77

Reaction score
Hi! I am new to water softeners and see there is a rabbit hole when it comes to it.

There are so many on the market!

What are some of the best bang for your buck water softeners?

Are there any must haves for a water softener?

Could I buy one from a big box store with great success and maybe make it better by changing out some of the parts with much improved pieces? Ie, the valves)?

Can you direct me to some threads of parts can be changed to greatly improve a low priced water softener that doesn't need much to make it stellar?

Can you also direct me to some great threads to help me with water softener protocol to best take care of it?

Do you recommend potassium over salt? I saw this mentioned somewhere.

Thoughts on brands like clack or one that is newer, Genesis?

Also, hope this is on topic still, but any recommendations for a reverse osmosis system?

Best directions for installation of a water softener and reverse osmosis that will be both up to code and have the most success with the least amount of problems?

Please go easy on me... I am new to this so some of the terminology may be in another language. If you are able to take the time to elaborate, that you in advance!

I am sure I would have plenty more questions had I been researching this longer than a short night, ha! I don't like to go into anything blind sided and want to have an extremely educated decision to make:)

Bannerman

Reaction score
The best bang for your buck is to buy from the start, the appropriate equipment for your specific water conditions and consumption requirements.