Newbie - Rainsoft equivalent alternative? Suggestions please.

Users who are viewing this thread

Wudman

Reaction score
I am a newbie to water treatment. Today I had a guy from Home Depot try to sell me a Rainsoft water filter for $3,800. He claimed it was not a water softener, it was a water filter. He told me that if I were to try and build my own unit that did everything the Rainsoft unit does, I would have to buy 6 or more different units. The features I liked was, whole house filtering, no drop in water pressure, and a small footprint. My question is, how does Rainsoft achieve so much in a single unit, and is there a comparable option for consumers to buy without the high markup.

I found a water softener online that had nothing but great reviews. It is the Fleck 5600SXT 48,000 grain water softener. I noticed in the reviews that some people stated that they also installed a water filter in addition to the water softener. I read others that stated they also installed a carbon filter.

I am not sure what equipment I should get. I am pretty handy at plumbing but I plan to have a professional plumber install the equipment once I get it. My wife and I have 4 small children and we use approx 14,000 gallons of water every month. Not sure if it's important but we have 3.5 bathrooms. The house has PEX plumbing. The main reason I wanted a water softener is to help my youngest son who has eczema. I do not want a drop in water pressure if it can be avoided.

I do not know the hardness of the water but it was enough to totally clog up one of my shower heads after 2 years. Here is a link to my water quality report - http://static1.squarespace.com/stat...333955487/HC+MUD+238_CCR_TX1012361+-+2015.pdf
I would appreciate any and all suggestions on equipment. Please let me know if any more data is needed.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score