Newbie question Toto Drake CST743S, cleaning rim holes

Users who are viewing this thread

Pseudonym

Reaction score
Hello,

Complete noob here!

I have a question about my Toto Drake CST743S.

My question is, how to get solution (e.g. vinegar) inside the rim of the toilet? Please note I have no issues with the Toto, it works beautifully. I'd just like to know for future cleaning.

The reason I ask. The other toilet in my house is an American Standard, the rim holes were slightly plugged when I bought the house in 2012. I opened the rim holes gently with a drill bit (no drill, just by hand with a bit that fit in the holes). This helped.

Next I had an idea and ran an inexpensive pond pump in the American Standard toilet overnight. I ran a gallon of colored vinegar from the bowl to the overflow tube, and confirmed the colored vinegar came through all of the rim holes. In the morning the toilet flushed very well. The last time I did this treatment on this toilet was two years ago and the toilet still flushes great ever since.

Today I decided I would give the Toto the same rim treatment with the pond pump and vinegar, as proactive maintenance to keep it flushing well. First I tested the pump with colored water. The bulk of the water came out the bottom hole in the bowl, and very little came out a few rim holes.

A normal full tank flush on the Toto shows strong water coming from all holes in the rim. But I can't seem to get that to happen with the pond pump or with even pouring a gallon jug of colored water into the overflow tube or the flush valve.

If the bottom hole in the bowl could be plugged, would that force more out the rim holes? How would I plug it if so? Is there another way way to force more out through the rim holes, without removing the toilet and turning it upside down?