Newbie needs water softener advice

Users who are viewing this thread

rocks911

Reaction score
I'm a 53 year old firefighter in the Dallas area that is looking for water softener advice.

What started this search was the remarkable deterioration of my kitchen faucet. I installed a brand new faucet in my kitchen four years ago and the thing barely trickles any more. It was a good faucet, I forget the brand but for sure it wasnt cheap. There are white (Calcium I assume) deposits all over the thing and it barely swivels (my sister-in-law actually thought it was stationary) which made me wonder about the general condition of all my plumbing, that is in and beneath my slab foundation particularly.

I have some basic info: there is no detectable Iron, Manganese is .00125 PPM and TDS is 264PPM or 15.4 Grains/Gal.
My city water is delivered through a 3/4" line from the front of my home.

I'm wondering, well a bunch of stuff, but lets start with where is a water softener supposed to be "set up", I mean where would it physically be? The garage...or outside somewhere? If outside does it need to be protected from freezing?
My city supply comes from the front of my home with my garage with water heaters in the back. I've got a pretty big house, 4 1/2 bath, 1 garden tub and a pool and hot tub out back, but just the wife and me there most of the time...how big a system do I need?

Mostly I wonder is there a link to a professional organization that could supply the name of a reputable plumber who could install a system for me? I dont really thrust this process in general cause I've had any number of kids pushing water purification snake oil, so I wonder is there a way to find someone to contract this in the Garland Tx area?

I'll leave this initial post at that...thanks for any help.

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score