New Well Coming Need Advice

Users who are viewing this thread

DJhandy

Reaction score
Lightning took out my well so have to have new Deep well with submersible drilled, I am trying to decide what I want and is best to have. I believe I want a 3 wire 1 1/2 hp SS Franklin with galvanized tank with control box. Is there a reason I should not go with this setup and go 2 wire? Or something else?
#2. Is the money for a metal casing worth it? Was told the worse that can happen is pump would need replaced but never the casing, is this true? Does Lightning not blow a hole in the metal casing and are they more prone to lightning strikes. More pumps replaced.
My well is 575' deep and pump is around 260'
Need advice soon preparing to clear for new well and needed it yesterday.

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro. You don't want a galvanized tank IMO. Instead you want a precharged diaphragm pressure tank probably, but if you want a non-precharged tank, you can get a rust-free version. Is this for irrigation or other commercial operation or for a home?

Normally for a home you would want a 5 or 4.5 inch PVC casing to avoid rust. 4 inch PVC is OK too, and it can accept a "4 inch" pump. 4 inch will not allow you to drop chlorine pellets to the bottom for sanitizing.
575 feet deep well, in Florida??? Is that casing all of the way down or just down a fraction of the distance? If going the full depth, maybe steel becomes necessary for strength.

Lighting irreparably damaged your steel casing -- that's your story, and the insurance agent bought it?

DJhandy

Reaction score
No I do not have steel casing now I have 4" PVC. Thinking about going with steel. It is the homes water source. Yes 575' well casing and yes lightning took out casing and most of items in house including a hole in the wall. This is NW Florida all wells around here for drinking average 4-600' deep.