New HVAC install

Users who are viewing this thread

VAWellDriller

Reaction score
I posted this in the HVAC forum as well, but here it is again, in case you plumbers don't look at that.

I am building a new house and am installing an open loop geo HVAC system, and have a supply and return well. The HVAC contractor normally does closed loop systems, and has that sub install all the plumbing right up to the units inside. I'm really not sure why, but he doesn't want to do any plumbing, and wants me to handle the water connections to the unit. I'm a well driller by trade, so a little plumbing doesn't scare me, just wondering if there is a preferred material to use, and why? I'm not very good with copper, and I have CPVC plumbing for the rest of the house. I was just going to continue with the CPVC for the HVAC unless there is something I'm missing. The water temp (entering and leaving) should never be out of the 45 - 75 degree F range I don't think.

Texas Wellman

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a plumber but I'm told that by code PVC is not allowed indoors. Of course, CPVC is. I have some family in the plumbing trades and they all use PEX now.

I have used CPVC a lot for house projects and I find it to be a very good material and easy to work with.
What size are the taps for the HVAC and will you run PVC up to the house and then convert to CPVC? How much water does it use?

VAWellDriller

Reaction score