New Home Sewer Line Clog

Users who are viewing this thread

Jocko124

Reaction score
Folks, I'm a complete novice when it comes to plumbing--I'm hoping to get some advice on issues I'm having at my home.

I live in a suburb of Houston. I purchased a brand new home 2 years ago. The home has 7 bathrooms/toilets. After a year of living in the home, we had 3 backups into the downstairs shower in 2 months. I believe that the line being clogged has the downstairs powder room, 1 downstairs bathroom and 4 upstairs bathrooms feeding it.

The first time the clog occurred, the builder gave me the "tell your kids not to flush foreign objects down the toilet" talk. I explained that my daughters are in their teens and know better than to flush anything down the toilet other than toilet paper.

The second time, they said that the toilet paper we use (Charmin Ultrasoft 2 ply) is the problem and we should switch to a "green" recycled toilet paper that is less likely to clog. We actually did this after the second incident and we had a third clog within a month.

After the third clog, they used a camera looking for a belly or break in the last Y in the line before the sewer line exits the home (this is where the clog always has been) and they said that we may be using too much toilet paper. I believe they also used a brush of some sort to clean the line. They also set the flow of all the toilets (Vortens) to maximum??