*New* Bathroom Sink pooling water and draining slowly

Users who are viewing this thread

djroygbiv

Reaction score
Hi there,

Lots of great info on this site! I've been a lurker for a while but have a small issue that recently came up and I finally registered in hopes that someone might have some thoughts on what might be going on.

The issue is the sink in our master bathroom is draining slowly. It was a new sink and new piping put in by the previous home owner so I'm 99% sure the issue isn't a clog as it's been doing it since day 1. It's a single vessel (over-mount) sink and the "pooling" of water isn't consistant. Often times it drains ok but quite often it pools up when the water is running. It usually drains relatively quickly and that process can usually be sped up by tapping the drain or swirling clockwise the water. When you do that, it seem to "catch" and drains very quickly which made me think there might be a venting issue. I'm a novice-intermediate DIY'er with little to no plumbing knowledge so I might be way off base with that guess. Everything in the rest of the house works perfectly (including that in the other 1.5 baths) and I don't notice any correlation in the sink draining of either of those 2 are engaged.

Any thoughts or guesses around what might be going on? Thanks in advance for any info and help!

*EDIT* I've added a pick of the plumbing under the sink in case anybody sees anything weird there. The vent is in the wall directly behind the wall and goes straight up to our roof where the "exhaust" vent is. It's hard to tell in the pic but that white pipe on the left that goes up and end is capped with one of those black screw-in caps in case anybody is looking at that.

sink.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Hammerlane

Reaction score
If the vent is in the wall, there is no need for the"one of those black screw-in caps" which is most likely an AAV or Air Admittance Valve.