Need your advices.. New stainless steel flange ring is too big

Users who are viewing this thread

Jbcown48

Reaction score
Hi,

I am having a DIY project to replace my 2nd floor bathroom floor and toilet. After I removed the toilet, the original toilet flange metal ring was crooked and rusted, and a little of flange surrounding base floor was rotted. I don't want to replace the wood base floor around the toilet nor replace the toilet flange (since i am a newbie), with some researches, I made 2 decisions:
1. use the stainless steel floor support to provide better support for the new toilet,
2. to remove the original toilet flange metal ring and replace it with this one

After all the above were done, I found out that the new metal ring was a little bit too big for the original PVC part of the flange.

Since the toilet will mount to the new ring which will mount to the floor support i installed, it should be pretty sturdy. Can i use some premium silicone or plumber putty to caulk around the space (less than 1/4 inch) between the new metal ring and the PVC part of the flange? I will be using 1 or 2 sani wax seal.

The last resort is to remove the old flange, which I am not confident enough to do. Please let me know what you think. Thank you!!

new metal ring.jpg

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
Your #1 concern is that the pipe is rigid, as if it can move, the seal will fail. A real wax ring will seal that gap when you install it, as long as the pipe cannot move, it should not be an issue.

Jbcown48

Reaction score
Thank you for your reply.

So the pipe does move if I try to push it with my hand (low to medium strength), so that needs to be secured and not moving. Any recommendation for doing that in this case, maybe some good lasting filler can go between the ring the the PVC?

You mentioned about a real wax ring, will the wax free wax ring handles slight movement better?

Thank you again!

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score