Need toilet that (hopefully) won't clog, looking for pressure assist

Users who are viewing this thread

bbaver

Reaction score
I recently purchased a home that was built in 1921. After about a month in the home, my toilet clogged, and unfortunately, I only have one bathroom in the house. I had Water Works out. Because of how small the bathroom is, they couldn't bring in the equipment to run a camera. The plumber was able to get some equipment in and he did clear the line. He stated that the pipes takes a number of turns and that it may be susceptible to future clogs. He suggested that I buy a power assist toilet.

The toilet I have now is a Delta 1.28 pgf and assume it's an inexpensive toilet. I paid $414 (or something like that) to have Water Works clear the line, so I really don't want to go through this again.

So I am searching the internet for advise on toilets. I'm a novice with toilets/plumbing and would appreciate any help. Looking for value - not sure I can fork out $500+ but might be willing to spend $400 or a bit more.

Some more details that I've been told come into play:

--it's a 12" rough-in.
--I don't know what the water pressure level is in the house
--as mentioned above, it's a tight area
--My contractor tells me there is no clean out
--I live in a suburb of Columbus, Ohio - I see that shipping charges can be steep if buying online

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Several companies make pressure assist toilet.
Kohler has an ADA Highline model with Flushmate pressure assist,
Gerber has the Ultraflush line with Flushmate pressure assist.

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
The question that few people answer is whether pressure assist in a toilet really accomplishes anything beyond a couple of feet down the line.

I think not.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com