Need some peace of mind

Users who are viewing this thread

Splatman

Reaction score
Need some peace of mind - Pump cycling

Ok, I just need someone to hopefully put my mind at ease.

I just had a new well pump, piping, and tank installed and have a few questions.

The pump company installed a CSV with a 40-60PSI pressure switch and attached a 20 gallon Well-rite WR60 tank. They explained to me that it was the equiv. of a 42 gal galvanized tank and that since I had a CSV installed it would be plenty for my needs.

Question:

Is it normal for the pump to kick on every 1Min 30seconds during a shower? It only takes about 45 seconds to catch up and shut off again.

Does my CSV need to be adjusted?

When they installed it they were running the spigot attached to the well to show me that the CSV kept the pump running at about 55PSI until the spigot was closed.

I just need some peace of mind. I'm an electrical engineer and worry about electronic devices and "wear and tear". :)

Thank you for the information...

John

Last edited:

Speedbump

Reaction score
The CSV is not electronic or even electrical.

Apparently the CSV or the Pressure Switch weren't set right. The pump should not cycle while your using the shower. Unless of coarse your shower produces less than 1 gpm. That would be a pretty sorry shower if it did.

You didn't mention what CSV you have, that would help a little if we knew that.

bob...

Splatman

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply.

I think I have a CSV1V, it's the same color (black case with brass screw on top).

I know it's not electronic, I was referring to the pump being the electronic device I was worried about... :)

After installation and the well spigot on, it kept the pump running so that the pressure was maintained at 55PSI. Could it be set to high or low for shower use?

Is it ok for a pump to cycle every 1.5 minutes during a shower?

Will it significantly shorten the pump life?